Sensory Issues

Stickiness doesn't matter; just how well her socks fit!

Someone please come dress my child today!  Morgan seems to have “sensory issues.”  Apparently she gets that from her Daddy who was very particular about how his socks were on his feet.

Morgan takes the sensory issues past the socks, up to the pants and shirts, jackets, hats, headbands, the list could go on forever!  I have tried seamless, tag-less, pretty, practical and every gimmick and promise out there in attempt to get clothes on my child.

This winter has been a special challenge since she decided she would not wear jeans, tights, jeggings or anything that zipped or buttoned.  She is also particular about her sleeve length, can’t go past her wrist but must come to the wrist.  Additionally, she feels that jackets have to be taken off in the car.  It is a good thing we live in Florida and barley have winter, otherwise one of us would have been committed.

Help!!!  What are some of your favorite brands of socks?  Anyone else have clothing battles each morning?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KL
    Feb 12, 2012 @ 21:38:53

    I would definitely recommend getting her to an occupational therapist to work on some desensitising techniques. For the person who’s child has the auditory sensitivity problems this would be useful for them as well. My little boy with ADHD, ODD and anxiety disorder, also has issues with this clothes and with noisy places, but we’ve found many things to help him out. At the moment, he will only wear his socks inside out so the seams don’t dig into his toes. Tags must be picked out, because cutting them off leaves a little bit left which is then apparently super annoying!
    I also sympathise with the sleeve length thing. My little boy has the exact same problem where it has to be precisely the right length! 🙂
    It can be coped with and helped though. The therapy is also super fun for them.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 09:54:40

      I will, thx. We tried the socks inside out and she, being the rule follower that she is, knew it was the wrong way and wouldn’t put her shoes on.

      Reply

  2. Perfecting Motherhood
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 21:04:09

    Oh my, I’m glad I have boys! They let me pick what to wear and never complain when they’re dirty. The only time they pick their own clothes is when they dress up in ninjas, knights, secret agents, super heroes… Oh what fun.

    Reply

  3. C
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 18:34:59

    I used to have my son pick out his clothes the night before.. we don’t do that anymore as he has no more problems with his morning routine but that helped a lot. I wish I had more suggestions.. we mostly struggle with audio sensory issues (e.g. kids screaming at school, going to the Mall, etc,.).

    What kind of fabric does your daughter like? Soft? Corduroy? Is it possible to take her out with you when you buy her clothes? I was thinking that it may allow her to feel the texture and feel involved in deciding on what she wears.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 09:58:12

      She always goes with me to buy the clothes but she picks things she likes to look at (pink, rhinestones, sparkles). When we get it home she won’t wear it. She likes cotton or fleece and elastic that isn’t tight but doesn’t fall down. She is a skinny, tall kid so that is hard!

      Reply

  4. Kim
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 17:53:05

    I can certainly help you with the sensory defensiveness! Let’s schedule some time together with Morgan and I can show you both some desensitization techniques.

    Reply

  5. Misslisted
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 11:30:48

    I hate to tell you this but at 19 my oldest child is still dealing with these issues! When he was little he was always very particular about his clothing. It drove me nuts, because i am a “throw-your-clothes-on-and-leave-the-house” kindof girl. He could not do that. Everything had to be just right! He is a poor 19 year old kid now. Lucky for him, his girlfriend works at Buffalo Exchange and finds him all sorts of deals, but, even in his current financial situation, he always has to wear certain brands (Polo being high on his list), his clothes have to be laundered just so (mom can you put a cup of vinegar in that load?), and folded just so (I am not skilled enough to fold his clothes properly). It drives me nuts, but he’s always been that way. When he was 3 and 4 he could only wear certain form fitting, soft cotton pajamas. Sigh. Good luck to you.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 11, 2012 @ 11:45:03

      Wow, still at 19? I guess I better embrace that this may be who she is? I want to help her work through it though. I guess I can help as much as I can but understand it may be out of my hands.

      Reply

  6. bigstormsbiggervictories
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 09:38:54

    You are not the only one!! It is rough some days, I know. Take a deep breath, you will get through it! 🙂 I agree with Momma E. Communication is key to combat temper tantrums. Of course, some methods work better for different children. I also use a lot of positive reinforcement when my son does handle things the way I like! (Good job using your words, I like when you talk, You did awesome putting your clothes on, etc). Of course kids will be kids and some just might more particular than others, but I do hope it gets easier for you!! 🙂 She sure is a cutie!

    Reply

  7. Momma E.
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 09:16:07

    My girls both had problems with routines; older one much more so. morning stuff had to be done in a certain order or they couldnt get anything done. I work in human services so I asked our SLP if i could use a communication program called Boardmaker to make some velcro backed task “tiles” with pictures of the routine morning stuff. This was quite helpful for my oldest to actually see that stuff can get done in any order. And moving the tiles into the finished side made her feel accomplished. Your issue is a bit different though. Lots of pre-planning, have her get her outfits ready the night before and leave them in a special place. Lots of praise for when she handles stuff outside her comfort zone appropriately. Let her help you with the wash do in case her clothes shrink she’ll see it’s still the same shirt. I work with people every day who have really severe sensory and processing issues. A lot of desensitization techniques can be used. My two are coping nicely. They really don’t like changes in their routines, but they’ve learned to adjust. Good luck!!!! Hugs!!!

    Reply

  8. rumpydog
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 07:56:39

    I have sensory issues with clothing too. I don’t like many man-made materials, though I will wear blends. And I don’t like tight clothing- which is not what is ‘stylish’ for a woman. *sigh*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
