“I Do Nothing”

How many of you have caught your kids in the act of doing something totally outrageous and they deny it was them? This has happened to me on more occasions than I would care to admit.  I want to raise honest kids, I want others to trust them.  Sometimes it is so hard to know what to do.

See the video after the break.

 

“I don’t fink so”.  What do you do with that? I think Emily is going to be a future politician.  She neither confirms nor denies the allegations.

The picture above was the art work of Morgan.  She acted so innocent when she was caught.  She didn’t understand why it was ok for me to write on the inside of a door jam, upstairs in their bedroom and why it was unacceptable for her to draw huge lines, in permanent marker, in our entry way.

Sometimes you just have to do nothing, for your sanity and their safety.

Who has a good story to tell? Please post links to pics if you were able to maintain your composure enough to take any.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whatimeant2say
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 21:19:27

    I was born with some kind of weird overactive guilt complex, so I couldn’t wait to confess my sins to my parents – even if I was certain to get away with it otherwise.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Be Like the Sharpie | The Gulkin Gazette
  3. Wendy Lawrence
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 16:38:43

    Yep! My son’s favorite comment right now is “it was an accident”.

    Reply

  4. My era
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 12:42:31

    It’s my first time on your blog and I am so glad I visited 😀 😀
    I too have many times acted plain innocent of having done nothing when my mum used to question me and my brother as to who made the mess 🙂 just like your daughter cutely replies, “I don’t fink so” 😀

    Reply

  5. sarsm
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 08:36:40

    So cute!! (Sorry)

    I once got caught climbing up the cupboard and putting one of my siblings sweets in my mouth. My mother ranted and I said, “I was just smelling it!” ?!? I’m still a terrible liar!

    Telling lies is a normal stage of developement. We use the “Being honest?” approach when we really want the truth and allowing to “tell stories” as long as the child admits that it’s a story.

    Reply

  6. Emily Simmons Murillo
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 20:45:48

    I don’t know which I was more entertained by…”I don’t fink so” or your other child’s insistence that her guilt was soooo obvious haha.

    Reply

  7. Perfecting Motherhood
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 14:35:35

    I read a really interesting article a few months ago on kids and lying, and why they lie. Well, the point was, we’ve all lied in our life, even as adults and the main reason is, we don’t want and like to feel embarrassed. And that’s the same reason why kids lie. They know they did something wrong but think if they deny it, they won’t get in trouble, even when they get caught red-handed, like your little one (funny video!).

    The article went on advising to help the child acknowledge their lie in an understanding way but ask them to make a wrong right (e.g. wash off the mess in your case). It doesn’t make the kid look bad, while straightening up the path to truth. What sound and simple advice.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 15:43:23

      Oh, Em was totally busted after the video camera went off and she did have to wash herself and the couch. I will have to continue to work with her on this. Thanks for the advice, sound and simple is great, it works!
      …most of the time

      Reply

  8. pouringperfume
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:35:38

    I would totally vote for Emily! I’d probably even believe her if she wasn’t covered with lotion 🙂

    Reply

  9. Christine
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 08:18:45

    I don’t have a picture because my little one wasn’t caught in the act by his mama. Rosa saw Caleb playing with the toilet, one of his obsessions lately. He was flushing something, which turned out to be Rosa’s toothbrush. Apparently toothbrushes are capable of seriously clogging a toilet. Its taped closed with a sign that says “NO!” on it, since my little ones couldn’t seem to remember not to use it.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:52:49

      So when you get the toothbrush out you should make him use it… not really, I think I might be too caught up in cause and effect parenting when I wrote that:)

      Reply

  10. teachlearnlaugh
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 08:17:23

    I was the child that colored on the wall. I went to “tell/babble” to my mother who had no idea what I was talking about but said all sorts of encouraging words. So when she saw what I had done, she couldn’t scold me, so she quietly cleaned it up….this is her version, I have no idea what my version would be. I was less than 2 years old.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 10:54:42

      I often wonder about my moms version of events before I have memories. “yes honey I was calm and didn’t even scold you” leaves me a bit skeptical

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
