Ready to be “Roller Coaster Tall”

“Emily, stand up here.  Put your feet all the way back.  Hooray!!!  You’re roller coaster tall!”

All this was said by Morgan in a shrill, screaming, enthusiastic voice.   The girls and I were at the entrance to Busch Gardens today when they made this discovery.  While typically I get looks of disgust from the other moms when Morgan is screaming this loud, today we got smiles.  Those smiles spoke to me.

My girls are tall. Daddy is 6’4″ and I am 5’8″ so they will always be tall kids – and today this worked to their advantage.  They were tall enough to ride Grover’s Flight but young enough to love the magic of Elmo‘s Safari.  They want nothing more than to have Abby Cadaby dance with them and Elmo hug them. However, they still can be intimidated by the size and voice of Cookie Monster.  They are young.

Today Morgan rode the rollercoaster with her hands up for the first time.  She also was brave enough to ride alone.  During Emily’s first coaster ride, she hid her head in my lap and I cherished that moment.  I hugged her close and kissed the top of her sweaty head.  At that moment I realized the smiles I had experienced  from other moms were memories of when their kids were first “Roller Coaster Tall”.

Are your kids riding the coasters yet?  What is your earliest roller coaster memory?  Anyone bring their kids to the park in high heels and a Mohawk to add a little height?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. the bright side life coaching
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 10:13:06

    This is very sweet. And the pictures are adorable. I am going to think of Morgan now every time I see those ‘are you tall enough for this ride’ signs, and I’ll be smiling!

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 10:40:42

      Awe, thanks! When you think of her keep in mind that she probably has on high heels and fairy wings. They seem to be the outfit of choice no matter the venue.

      Reply

  2. ALG
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 07:28:53

    I remember 🙂
    Sweet memories of a little blonde girl who was thrilled to finally ride a roller coaster. Her face beamed with that beautiful smile as she threw her hands up and and shouted “faster, faster!!” :):)

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 07:38:16

      That is Morgan, also! After the coaster the girls drove little cars and Em kept telling Morgan to go faster. Glimpse of them at 15/16? I hope not!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
