Incurable Ears

To my bundle of energy, Emily.

All Smiles!

Over the past few months you have had six surgeries.  You saw the inside of more doctors offices and had more radiation than most kids will ever have in their lives.  Through it all, somehow, your smile stayed on your face and that gave us hope.

Your ear infections began like most kids and after several you were referred to an ENT for ear tubes, you continued to get them for some unknown reason and went through several sets of ear tubes.  We had your Tonsils and Adenoids removed, your Sinuses vacuumed out and we pumped you full of antibiotics, nothing appeared to be working.

Finally, in November of 2011, your new ENT realized there was no alternative and you would have to have Mastoid surgery to remove the infection (atypical micro-bacterium).  So many people asked about you and prayed for you (and for all of us) during that time.  I was always able to tell them that you were still happy and bouncing off the walls as if nothing had happened.  Very few times did you let anything slow you down.

Now, miraculously, you seem to be better.  I look back at all you have been through and tears fill my eyes as I feel the desire to tell you, thank you.  Thank you for being strong and brave.  Thank you for smiling through the pain. Most of all thank you for giving us hope and faith.

Love,

Mommy

Has anyone else had a child who has undergone Mastoid surgery? Anyone with multiple sets of ear tubes? Any good herbal remedies or diets that I should know about for the future?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Perfecting Motherhood
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 00:11:36

    Thanks for following my blog. I can’t believe your little one has had so many surgeries so far but I’m glad to hear she’s doing a lot better. I waited until my eldest was 4 to have his tonsils and adenoids removed (he has sleep apnea and poor appetite) and going through the surgery was a nail-biter. He had complications and ended up in the surgery the next day so there’s nothing “simple” about any surgery (http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2010/08/11/remove-tonsils-and-adenoids-in-children-with-sleep-apnea/). Whe he turned 5, he got hernia surgery, another nerve wrecking event. I hope he’s done for a while and I hope yours is too.

    Reply

  2. Beth Ennis
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 06:37:25

    What a strong little girl you have. I hope 2012 brings you and your family great health and happiness. Thank you for following my blog! 🙂

    Reply

  3. littleprince68
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 21:31:41

    Hi! Thanks for following my blog. We are both mothers so we can perfectly relate to each other. Honestly, tears ran down from my eyes after reading this blog of yours. Of course, I felt your pain before and your happiness now. God bless

    Reply

  4. MamaMoo
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 20:12:00

    Do you have a particular brand of probiotics? I have used sustinex and florastore but I am still looking for others.

    Reply

  5. happymom3
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:54:27

    What a sweet little girl. I’m so sorry you had to go through this. My daughter was a NICU baby (3 months premature) and had 2 surgeries when she weighed only 2 pounds. I understand. As for the ears, and health in general, daily probiotics ended our son’s struggle with repeated ear infections. He had 10 ear infections in a year and was on so many antibiotics. His doctor recommended tubes, but we wanted to give it a shot w/ the proBiotics. Since we began using them at age 2 1/2, he never had another ear infection. Try powdered, chewable, or capsules you can open and sprinkle. Our whole family takes them every day, even our baby! Thank you for sharing your touching story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
