The “No Swings” Initiative

Swings should be taken out of all parks.  As much as I may love the upper body workout as I stand in the dirt, in the sun, dodging kicks in the head, hearing “Higher Mommy, higher!”  I need a break.


Today we spent three hours at the park and my arms are Jello!  I pushed my kids, your kids and someone else’s kid.  I love playing with my kids.  I am up for a walk on the nature trail, soccer in the field or hide and seek.  But no swings!

My kids use swings when they are bored or tired of playing.  They are not quite ready to admit that they want to go home for some needed rest time.  When I am at the park I want my kids to run out all their energy and use their imagination.  I want them to meet new friends and initiate play.  Instead, I get “Pleeeeeease push me on the swings.”  Secret confession time: if no one is around I may tell them to just go play – but when other moms are there I feel compelled to push.

   
   

Whose with me in the “No Swings” Initiative?  What part of the park do you despise?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Crystal Kay Hill
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 22:47:53

    SOOOO true! BTW< thanks for your comment on my blog. =D I was just thinking that today, and yes, I DID tell my daughter I was done swinging her and that she needed to go play. I'm so mean!!!

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 03, 2012 @ 20:16:54

      I prefer the to say we are enabling our kids to use their imaginations. Just being pushed on a swing doesn’t help their social development so really let’s say we are helping our kids by not pushing them:)

      Reply

  2. Christine
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 09:00:49

    See saws, ugh. Caleb is way too light to use a see saw with Rosa. She is sitting on the ground very disheartened while Caleb is up in the air swinging his legs. So they call Mommy to push Caleb down so Rosa can have a turn up in the air. All the while, I am praying I don’t get whacked in the teeth by this clunky metal thing. They should be banned. Case closed.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 03, 2012 @ 20:14:44

      I haven’t seen a park lately with see saws. Maybe they are being banned in the states. Remember how we used to jump off in mid-air and the other person would slam to the ground. Fun times!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
