Spring Fling

When you are a kid the world is so big and fascinating.  I enjoy seeing the world through the eyes of my kids when I take the time to pay attention.

When Morgan was little she was so fascinated by the wind.  She just loved it.  She would hold her breath and smile, she was only a few months old when the fascination began.  The girls are both currently fascinated by school buses.  They love to see them , they love to watch the kids get out, they count them on the road.  Morgan can even tell the difference between them, they all look big and yellow to me but she notices details of the buses and will tell me how they differ.  We got an air-popper popcorn machine for Christmas and the first time the girls saw the popcorn pop they squealed with excitement and their faces lit up.

I was reminded of these small things that are so huge to them on Saturday.  This past weekend we attended Spring Fling at Morgan’s school.  We had a great day and the school was able to raise a lot of money which is always an added bonus.  My mom was able to attend with us this year. I told her ahead of time that it wasn’t anything too special or exciting, just a small fundraiser.

While walking around she mentioned that the event was similar to my school’s “field day” when I was a kid.  I stopped dead in my tracks, really? In my mind that day was amazing! There was so much to see and do.  Was I really only throwing ping-pong balls in colored water? Was I digging in a kiddie pool for tiny dinosaurs? Was I making Fruit Loop necklaces? Yes, yes and yes. When I was a kid, I was doing activities similar to what I was Morgan and Emily were doing.  As I walked around I realized that to my little excited kids this was going to be something they would remember forever as such a fun, special day.  I went from being hot and ready to go home, to wanting to capture their faces in pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What small things are your kids fascinated with? Are you able to enjoy the little things with them?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. klrs09
    May 26, 2012 @ 09:16:10

    Your girls are so cute! They certainly look like they were having a good time. I work in a school and take part in track and field day every year — this year was my tenth anniversary! It’s always fun, but ours are more sports-oriented due to the age of our students, but I remember my own field days were more like the ones you are describing. I was probably in the very early grades when I played three-legged races, horseshoes and the like. Lovely post.

    Reply

  2. Life's Toolbox
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 22:04:29

    Thank you for “liking” my blog post at life’stoolbox.wordpress.com Parents so need a place to share ideas, get advice and encouragement! I love the pictures you’ve included with your posts.

    Reply

  3. Perfecting Motherhood
    Mar 09, 2012 @ 14:25:16

    Kids really get a kick out of very little things. My kids right now LOVE blowing bubbles and finally got the bubble blowers they’re been bugging me about for months. They love looking at them fall on the ground, fly up and away. Simple pleasures.

    Talking about something opposite of small, my five year old is starting to grasp the concept of the universe. He’s amazed that you can count numbers to infinity (and beyond!) and that we don’t know where space stops and if it even does stop. He’s a little disturbed at how small he really is in the big scheme of things. Interesting discovery.

    Reply

  4. ALG
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 09:57:14

    Wonderful precious memories!

    Reply

  5. muddledmom
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 08:21:44

    You’re so right. I loved those days as a kid! I still remember the one field day we had at my school and how great it was. You never know what your kids will remember. We may think it’s just cardboard and glue, but to them it’s spectacular. Thanks for the reminder.

    Reply

  6. irishsignora
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 23:01:55

    We made macaroni necklaces last week. I was horrified to discovered how easily I had forgotten what magic there is in pasta and curling ribbon, and profoundly grateful that I rediscovered it through my daughters’ eyes!

    Reply

  7. Seasonsgirl
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 21:48:53

    How true… how true 🙂

    Reply

  8. the domestic fringe
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 10:07:22

    I love this, because sometimes I forget to see things through my kids eyes. If I did, everything would be a lot more special. Glad your children enjoyed themselves.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Creative Commons License