Baby Talk

I love baby babble.  It is so sweet when your little one, fully engages you with their babbling noises.  We as parents respond with genuine enthusiasm and excitement.  Eventually that babble turns into words and those words still are often only interpreted by those who know them best.  Today’s post is about just that, words that only parents would understand.

Morgan had a list of words that only made sense to a few of us.  There are a number of words that she incorrectly ended with “y or ie”; (for example, blankie or bathy).  I think I am to blame.  Surely I must have tried to make cute baby talk by adding those endings, and she copied me – why I did this I’ll never know.  I guess you can equate it to adults that look at a baby and say “goo goo ga gee”; definitely not cute.  Who agrees?

Morgan still has a few words that she says with the extra letters.  A great example is when she is ordering ribs at a restaurant, she orders “Milk, corn on the cob and ribbies”.  Bear with me as I attempt to phonetically spell some of her past Morgan-isms:

Lellow: yellow

There’s a whatey dink in my cone: There is water in my corn

Gymnast-stick-cis: gymnastics

Scooter bike: Three wheeled scooter

Since Em is our second child I thought it would be easier to understand her but she had a language all her own. Some of her Em-isms are:

rain-gee-ging: you would think this is raining, right? No, it means windy.

(store) home: This requires a longer explanation.  She adds the word home when it is a location that we frequent, for example “Chick-fil-A home”, “Target home”, “Publix home”.  If we go to a different Target, it is not “Target home”.  She likes “Target home” better.

Pom pooter: Computer

Chaulky milk: Chocolate milk

Poohie: Winnie the Pooh

Pider: Any bug

A few of our favorite quotes lately have been:

“Mom, don’t you just love the words that are coming out of my head?” Morgan

“Where can I put this yucky not?” Em, across the park, holding up a booger on her finger

“Ok mom, can I play with just me now?” Morgan wanting Emily to go away.

“Let’s go on a kid’s date.” Em to Morgan

What are some words only your child says? Any quotable quotes lately?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. From the Hatchery
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 08:34:25

    Our twins are on the brink of talking — but right now they babble in what a friend says sounds like Arabic. I’m half-hoping they come up with their own twin language … but I want to be in on it too!

    Reply

  2. littleprince68
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 22:49:14

    Hi! This post of yours reminded me of my son’s first word “mama”. Oh, until now I still can’t describe the feeling I had when I heard it. But now, I often ( jokingly of course) tell my son that I didn’t realize how annoying it will be to hear this word a million times in one day..haha

    Reply

  3. Pa Pa Douan
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 07:52:23

    Love em. Keep them coming. Wish we lived closer and could spend more time with the whole family.

    Reply

  4. familyof5
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 06:59:09

    My girls say all sorts, lampaleen comes to mind, tranpoline!

    Reply

  5. pamelazimmer
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 22:24:16

    So cute and SO relatable. My 4-1/2 yr old still says “lellow” for yellow. When he was younger he would call me “Manny” for Mommy – I loved that. Now he calls me Ma-Ma. His favorite saying (at least for this week): “Oh yeah!”
    My younger one is 20 months and he is talking up a storm, most of which only I understand. And of course, like Orples above, my mind is completely blank! Oh well, next time.
    Thanks for sharing, and glad I found your blog. It’s great.

    Reply

  6. orples
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 20:39:53

    Why is it that when someone asks a direct question, my mind goes blank? Of course, I can’t think of anything off-hand that my younger grandchildren say, but I do often find the older ones translating for me.

    Reply

  7. admin
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 19:53:10

    I think it’s wonderful that you have a place, and are taking the time, to record these precious moments. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
