Happy Birthday Dr Seuss! Love, Two Adorable Lorax

My girls love Dr Seuss books. Although the author is best known for Green Eggs and Ham and The Cat in the Hat, my girl’s favorite book is The Foot Book. It was one of the first books Morgan could “read”.

I put the word read in quotes above because she memorized it and then recited it back to me. Regardless of that detail, that book helped boost her confidence. She thought she was reading, saw how proud I was and wanted to read more. She is only four so it definitely is still a work in progress.

This past weekend we attended a birthday party for Dr Seuss and all the kids were given yellow mustaches, just like the one the Lorax had in the book The Lorax. The girls loved the mustaches and enjoy reading while wearing them – I found this quite amusing.

On a simlar note, I wanted to mention that my favorite books growing up were the Berenstain Bears. Ms Jan Berenstain passed away on Monday. Lauren wrote a brief eulogy – you can read here. I offer my condolences to their son, Mike and the rest of the Berenstain family. Your values will live on in so many lives.

In closing, I encourage each one of you to read a book – or several books – to your kids today in honor of Dr Seuss’ birthday and in memory of Ms Jan Berenstain.

What are your kids favorite books? What was your favorite childhood book or series?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kevinpedersen1
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 01:30:08

    I remember my mom reading to my brothers & I growing up. I remember reading with our kids just like mom did with us. As they got older, they read everything in sight…Dr. Suess, Clifford The Big Red Dog, Robert Munsch, PonyPal, and then they started reading novels! Enjoy your parenting and thank you for reminding me.

    Reply

  2. ifiwerebraveblog
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:44:44

    I have a clear memory of the first time someone read me The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe. I remember when one day’s reading came to an end, I was literally disoriented. I had to shake myself to come back to reality. From that day on, I was hooked on story.

    Reply

  3. meowmie
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 17:43:25

    I loved the Berenstein Bears when I was a kid!

    DD is a bit undecided about Dr Seuss books. Isn’t that strange! When I was a kid, I thought they were the best thing ever. DD is slowly becoming more interested in them, like Red Fish.

    Reply

  4. Catherine Burden
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 09:50:37

    When my eldest was learning to read, it was all Dr. Seuss, and she too had the book memorized. My solution, I had her read the book backwards!

    Reply

  5. Perfecting Motherhood
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 20:38:16

    I can’t stand most of the Dr Seuss books (sorry!) but my kids like them so I suffer in silence. ;-)

    We love the Berenstain Bears as a way to teach kids great life lessons in a simple way. Help your daughter “read” by pointing at the words when she recites them. My brand new four year old can spot quite a lot of words in the books he likes and constantly points at words to ask what they are. Kids that age are very sharp and pick up reading very well. My other son is in kindergarten and can read on his own now. It’s wonderful to read books now, alternating between him and me!

    Reply

  6. orples
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 12:30:56

    Happy Birthday Dr. Suess! Think, oh think, of the smiles that you brought

    Think, oh think, of the kid’s that you taught

    Forever, your memories will continue to live

    Think, oh think, of the gifts you did give!

    Okay, so it’s a little lame, but above is my tribute to a man that has given this world so much. May Dr. Suess RIP and hopefully, be looking down, aware of the legacy he left.

    Reply

  7. Parenting and Money
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 06:51:05

    My son loves the ear book! We read it every night along with several others in the collection. He likes to say the sounds in the book.

    Reply

  8. Delgabre
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 06:32:00

    I loved Dr. Seuss books growing up… Green Eggs and Ham my absolute favorite!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
