Your “Lovies”

To Morgan and Emily,

Since this is your baby book and I have never mentioned them, I have to tell you girls about your “lovies” and how they entered the family.

Before I do that I must post a word of caution to all new and expecting moms. You should allow yourself two rules to “lovies”, the first being that you only allow one per child. This is vitally important if you plan on following rule number two, which is to have multiple “lovies”.

Did you read that wrong? No. Here is what I mean. If you seem to notice a particular attachment to a certain soft object go buy two more of the identical object. Wash them several times and place one in the car and one in the diaper bag. Leave the other in the house. They should never leave their respective “homes.” They should all end up showing a good amount of care and love. This also means you will not be rocking a screaming toddler to sleep because they left their item at home while on vacation. You’ll note below, I did not follow my rules.

Now back to the girls and their lovies…

Morgan – you have two “lovies” a large Winnie the Pooh and a special purple blanket. You got your purple blanket from a lady at a store where mommy and daddy were working when we were pregnant with you. Everyone in the store kept seeing my tummy getting bigger. The bigger I got (and i got huge!) the more presents you got, cute outfits, toys and the purple blanket. It stayed near your crib until you were big enough to pull it in and then you began sleeping with it regularly.

As for your Pooh Bear, we took many trips to the mall during your first year of life and you loved the Disney Store. Every time we went into the store from when you began walking in June of 2008 until December you would run over and grab a Winnie the pooh from the enormous bin of stuffed characters. For Christmas we got you that Winnie the pooh and you haven’t slept a night without him since.

Em – you have four – ugh four! The first one is a funny story, it is a pink blanket with a Winnie the pooh character in the corner. It was bought by your Aunt Michelle for Morgan one vacation when we left her purple blanket at home. She wouldn’t use it because it wasn’t what she wanted and you stole it (you were three months old). The second blanket is pink with patchwork on one side and silk on the other, you found it in your room and called it the “pink bankie wif stwipes”. The third, Grammy hand-made and embroidered a pillow for your first birthday and you love sleeping on it every night. Your Winnie the Pooh came into the picture one late night at Walmart. Your Aunt Christine and I were shopping and we wanted to keep you and your cousin happy so we grabbed two off the shelf and handed them to each of you, you haven’t put it down since.

As much grief as it has caused us to lose the lovies or leave them behind, Daddy and I love that you have them.  Having them preserves memories and keeps you little.

Do your kids have lovies? What are they? Ever lose them? Any advice to other parents?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ifiwerebraveblog
    Mar 07, 2012 @ 12:43:01

    I had several copies of the same lovies for my kids. We rotated them and all was well. Until they found the stash. Then it was all over. One lovey was elevated to queen status and the others were retained as courtiers. Now we have to keep track of all of them.

    Reply

  2. retireandlove
    Mar 04, 2012 @ 16:54:55

    Our boy hasn’t had a lovie unless you consider the iPad one. :/ Our little girl though has a pink blanket from Ikea that we had in her cradle since day 1. When she got to sleep in her toddler bed she has latched onto it like nothing else. Only that blanket will calm her and put her to sleep. She drags the blanket everywhere all over the house. We just wished Ikea shipped, so we could order a few more!

    Reply

  3. softcrunchymom
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 21:35:44

    Too cute, my son has just started using a lovie, it’s one of those blankets with a head on it and he loves that things, it’s so funny how and what kids decide to use.

    Reply

  4. KL
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 18:35:13

    I love this post. It’s so precious and sweet. I also think your advice (even if you didn’t follow it) is awesome for new Mums! My six year old son has a penguin. He’s been obsessed with penguins since he was about 18months old. We bought it for him as a present when we spent our first night away from him for an anniversary weekend away. He has carried that ‘KaKa’ (I have no idea why he called it that!) everywhere with him, and it’s still on his bed to this day. Sometimes ‘KaKa’ can be seen flying out of the bedroom if my son is in a bad mood. He will scream, “I HATE my furries! They all need to go in the bin!” Awwww.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:44:38

      KaKa?!? Awesome, nickname! Em actually calls her Winnie the Pooh “Poohie”, which also sounds quite amusing if you don’t know to what she is referring. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply

  5. orples
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 09:19:07

    Your daughters are lovely. As far as advice goes, it looks like you are doing just fine. It is good for children to have one or two special little buddies (lovies) to cuddle up with, and you’ve already got that covered. You have a beautiful family. ;)

    Reply

  6. saradraws
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 08:04:46

    I’m new here, but I love the idea that this is a baby book for your wee ones. I have yet to deal with “lovie” issues, like losing one, or leaving it behind, but the day will come, and though I can’t have multiples, I am at least forewarned now.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:39:25

      I still have not decided how I am going to print this babybook, but I am glad I at least have it here in cyberspace. Thanks for following!

      Reply

  7. teachlearnlaugh
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 07:09:40

    I have a30 year old who still fondly has in her possession her baby blanket. It started out as a handmade quilt but after a few years of love it started to become thread bare…enter protective layer 1. There’s 3 layers. Each made it fluffier and the last made it college worthy.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:36:14

      I love that you kept adding the extra layers. I can only imagine the memories that piece(s) of material represents. Thanks for sharing.

      Reply

  8. Jenn Brisendine
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 07:04:04

    Oh my gosh, do we ever have lovies. My seven-year-old has a Clifford that is worn, hairless, and tagless from years of love. My four-year-old fell for a bunny from Pottery Barn years ago and when we realized his attachment, we bought a few extras. We keep them in a “warren” hidden up in the closet. Good idea to wash and wear several lovies equally! We had to fib upon replacing the first bunny — “Look, after his bath, he looks just like new!”

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 27, 2012 @ 19:33:06

      I am totally digging the “after the bath he looks totally new” comment. Even though our kids are smarter than we think, I like that comment!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
