Grandma’s House and the Conscience Develops

My husband is blessed to work for a company that takes all of its team, and their spouses, on an all expense paid trip each year. We have been to Long Beach, Washington DC, San Antonio and Orlando in the past four years he has been a part of the team. The company requires that you do not bring your children with you. At first I was taken back by this rule – not anymore. We have truly enjoyed these trips away from the kids. We love our girls, but we need a break and time alone together.

I have a secret to share, though – we actually had my mom keep our oldest (6mo old at the time) in a hotel down the street from where we were staying our first year. I snuck over to nurse several times a day; it was a pain! Every year after that Ed’s parents or sister have been able to watch the girls.

This year it was my mom’s turn. When I told Morgan that Grandma was going to watch her while we were in Orlando she asked, “By herself?” with a look of utter disbelief that I found hysterical.

All week-long my mom said the girls did well. Anytime they acted up she told me she thought it was just because they missed me… Blah blah blah . I appreciated this although I know the truth, they are my kids!

Since we have returned home though it’s all coming out. Everything from the “Grandma told me not to but I did it anyway” comments to the “I wouldn’t eat the food grandma made” comments. I smile to myself and we talk about better choices. However, they are young and it’s over, no need to rehash the past, right?

Morgan however is obsessed with the fact that she would not put away the dolls when grandma asked her to. She has mentioned this several times. She decided she needed to write a note to grandma. She doesn’t think grandma wants her to come back to her house again because she was naughty. Those thoughts could not be more untrue.

I have talked to her and tried to work this through. Grandma called and invited her back and told her how much she loved her. And I encouraged her to write the note and told her we would mail it tomorrow.

I love how she wants to have a clear conscience; I appreciate how doing wrong bothers her and how determined she is to make it right. I hope this never changes! Once again, I can learn so much from my kids.

What have your kids taught you lately? Have their confessions to clear their consciences surprised you? If so, what do you do to help them work through it?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Guat
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 15:35:39

    Pretty cool story ;) Thanks for stopping by and reading ;)

    Reply

  2. Mark Ketchum
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 19:18:18

    Love your stories. Our children require a more memorable consequence other than just talking about better choices, but I am sure they have a different disposition as well.

    Reply

  3. allinthedayofme
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 11:06:18

    I’m at the grandma end and I love taking care of my grandchildren too. Thanks for sharing this with such honesty.

    Reply

  4. Christine
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 10:44:21

    love this post, and the pictures :)

    Reply

  5. muddledmom
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 10:30:38

    So sweet! It’s hard when something bothers them so much that they can’t get past it, but nice to know that they do have a conscience. Sounds like you all handled it just right. And how wonderful to get a little away time!

    Reply

  6. deborahbeyer
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 09:31:55

    I will never forget the day my son was swinging on a playground swing when a little girl walked in front of him and he knocked her over with his feet. Even though it was an accident and there was no way he could have stopped in time, he felt so badly that he put himself in time-out at the playground. He sat on a wall and refused to enjoy himself anymore. I told him the girl was okay and even walked him over to where she and her mother were playing later and they told him that she was okay, but it took a long time for him to let go of the guilt. I felt sorry for him, but also touched that he cared so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
