February Fun at the Beach!

Today we spent a wonderful winter day at… the Beach! Yes, the beach, in February. Where we live, and with this mild winter, the beach seems to be a year round option. I love going to the beach with my girls.  I enjoy being outside all day, seeing the endless ocean and resting my feet in the sand.  For the girls it’s the best place for their expansive imaginations to soar.

Sure, we bring sand toys, kites and umbrellas but most of the fun is what they make out of it. They can build anything with the sand. They made fairy dust castles, mazes for each other to walk, swimming pools, a “witches’ brew”, slides, trampolines and that was only in the first few hours. They are mermaids in the water, they scuba dive to the depths of the sea (six inches) in search of treasure. So pure, so beautiful.

They meet new friends from all over the world. Today they met McKenzie, a beautiful girl who was adopted from China. She explained adoption to them, in the way only a five year old can, within the first ten minutes of play. She was a leader and she told the girls what they needed to do. My girls would react by banding together and defending one another. They are not easily led.

Sunscreen was applied in thick layers. Swim shirts were to be worn at all times. They were not allowed to go deeper than their knees unless I was near. They crunched sand with each bite of their apples and had salt in their PB&J. Regardless of all the rules and trials, they had a wonderful day exploring their imaginations together. Days like this I want to remember, forever!

Have you taken your kids to the beach? What did you most enjoy about your day?

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sarsm
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 05:53:29

    I really miss the beach. I used to live in Scotland and the beach and the sea are really one of the things I most miss.
    Last year we drove to the South of France for a week and rented a beach appartment. It was amazing. Uplifting and rejuvinating.

    And like you say, the kids can really let go of their imaginations.

    Reply

  2. klrs09
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 19:15:07

    I would love a day at the beach right about now! We’re getting snow, snow and more snow — but, we do need it, or Alberta’s going to have a terrible, dry summer. the pictures are beautiful.

    Reply

  3. Perfecting Motherhood
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 14:00:43

    Lovely times! We live in San Diego so we can go to the beach anytime here too, although it can be quite cold, breezy and cloudy in the winter. The water is absolutely frigid any time of the year and I’ve never put more than my feet in there and I doubt my kids would enjoy the swim as they get cold like me. But they love to make sand sculptures. As for me, I hate the clean-up of the toys, the kids, the clothes. All that sand…

    But I promised them our next trip to the beach will be to look at tide pools and find shells. Unfortunately you have to time it just right with the low tide and so far, we’ve missed every single weekend it would have worked, and then you have to wait a few more weeks. But I know it will be a lot of fun when we finally do that.

    Reply

  4. irishsignora
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 21:20:59

    I cannot wait to take our tribe to the beach; it will probably be next summer before they can visit a real ocean beach, but one of the Chesapeake Bay beaches is about an hour’s drive from us . . . maybe this spring! It’s going to be so much fun to see what they make of all that sand!

    Reply

  5. littleprince68
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 21:12:09

    It was definitely a fun-filled day for you and your girls. Australia is surrounded by water as well and we have beautiful beaches too but one thing that scares me are shark attacks which not infrequent here. God bless

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:15:09

      After movies like “jaws” and even “soul surfer” sharks are always on mind mind, we stay shallow and watch carefully for sea life.

      Reply

      • littleprince68
        Feb 23, 2012 @ 23:05:39

        Shark attacks over there in the US are not so frequent compared here. Here down under shark attacks are quite alarming. But it does not mean to say that we do not go to the beach anymore. Like you, we are mindful and careful. God bless

  6. jaymers
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 20:07:43

    What a great day. No beaches here. Our kids have been once to the ocean, but wouldn’t really remember it. My folks live near Lake Michigan, so we sometimes go to the beach there… but it does not compare to saltwater in the air, even I can admit that. Here’s hoping there are lots more beach days in your future!

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:16:49

      Thank you for your comment. My husband would say a lake is much better then the ocean because of the lack of salt water. For me, the salty sea air is all I know… and bonus, it naturally cleanses the sinuses.

      Reply

  7. KL
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 17:41:52

    oh that really sounds lovely! My little boy just loves the beach. You would think that living in Australia we would be at the beach all the time. Alas, with all this rain lately (and remember it’s actually summer here!) we have only been to the beach once this season! The day we went, half the beach was closed because of the dangerous rips and there were bluebottles everywhere! We do love the beach though. Here in Aus, it’s hard to find calm beach like in your photos. We have quite ‘wavy’ beaches in Sydney. My son loves the waves, but it does restrict ‘playing’ as such. He also isn’t allowed in unless I or my husband are right in with him to pick him up if he gets dumped by a big wave. Glad you had a lovely time with your little ones though. Those will be the moments to treasure. As you said, “pure”.

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:19:30

      I know what you mean by the dangerous rip tides! There are definitely some parts of the state where my girls are not allowed into the water without my hand, where we are here is a calm, bay. Wishing you less rain and more ocean!

      Reply

  8. Pop
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 10:55:12

    Adorable pics! My favorite part of taking the kids to the beach is how much fun they have and how much they’ve grown. Both of my kids initially HATED sand, and wailed when we put them down – now they love it! Least favorite part of taking kids to the beach? A) Feeling like a packmule carrying all of the bags through the sand and B) getting sand off the girls.

    Reply

  9. orples
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 08:55:38

    When I used to live in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida, the beaches were packed in the winter. Hmm, maybe I should head South for a visit. Going to the beach right about now sounds like a winner to me. ;)

    Reply

  10. the domestic fringe
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 08:13:31

    That’s awesome. Wish I could go to the beach. I see lovely palm trees in your photos….I’m totally jealous. Glad your kids had fun!

    Reply

  11. whatsupyournose
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 07:01:05

    I am jealous. We just had our first snow, and while we enjoyed it, we would much rather be at the beach!! Have some fun for us!!

    Reply

    • MamaMoo
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:28:49

      My girls would be so jealous to hear that you had your first snow, guess it’s one of those grass greener situations? but seriously, right now the grass is green and the palm trees are flourishing! I love this kind of “winter”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Creative Commons License
